Ridesharing, such as Uber and Lyft, has become a popular mode of transportation in Colorado and across the world, providing an affordable and convenient way for people to get around. However, with the rise of ridesharing services, there has been a need for regulation to ensure safety and that passengers are covered if they are injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorist. Ridesharing services allow passengers to request rides using a mobile app, which then matches them with a nearby driver who is available to provide the ride.
To operate as a rideshare driver in Colorado, drivers must meet certain vehicle requirements. The vehicle must be a model year of 15 years or newer, have 4 doors, and be in good condition with no cosmetic damage. The vehicle must be registered and insured in Colorado. Drivers for rideshare services in Colorado also must meet certain requirements. They generally must be at least 21 years old, have a valid driver's license, and pass a background screening, which examines the driver's driving record and criminal history.
Insurance Requirements: Colorado law requires rideshare companies to provide insurance coverage for their drivers while they are logged into the app and available to accept rides. In car accidents where the Uber or Lyft driver is at fault and injures someone, the injured party will be covered by Uber or Lyft's own liability insurance policy. Uber and Lyft's bodily injury liability coverage is usually $1,000,000 per person/per accident.
In 2022, Colorado passed new legislation (House Bill 22-1089) requiring rideshare companies, like Uber and Lyft, to provide underinsured/uninsured (UIM/UM) insurance coverage of at least $200,000 per person and $400,000 per accident. This means that if you are a rideshare passenger in a crash caused by another driver, and the at-fault driver has no insurance or insufficient insurance, you can make a claim up to $200,000 per person against Uber or Lyft's UM/UIM insurance coverage for injuries and losses suffered.
Additionally, if you have your own personal UIM/UM coverage, that will also apply, even though you were a passenger in another vehicle. In Colorado, UM/UIM coverage follows individuals wherever they go. This is a great reminder of how important it is to make sure you select UM/UIM coverage on your own auto policy. Claims involving Uber or Lyft can be very complex and oftentimes entail multiple different insurance policies “stacking” on one another.
Our attorneys are experts in analyzing and interpreting auto insurance policies. If you have been hurt in a car accident while riding as an Uber of Lyft passenger, our experienced rideshare attorneys can help.
Contact a Rideshare Accident Lawyer in Colorado Today
Rideshare accidents pose unique challenges. At Hagen Nares PLLC, our auto accident team will work to make sure you get smart representation so that you receive the compensation you deserve. Call us at 720-772-8513 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a Free Consultation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment